who we are

The Bay St. George Status of Women Council was founded in 1985, and incorporated in 1987. We serves the southwest region of the island portion of Newfoundland and Labrador. Our mandate specifies our commitment to improving the economic and social conditions of predominantly rural women in a large area of Southwestern Newfoundland that encompasses roughly 35,000 people.

We practice a feminist-based approach in our community work. Through our experience in leading and managing projects within our local community, we have created a positive impact for local women and their families.  We strive to empower women and girls in our community by providing assistance to women in need of adequate housing, employment, educational opportunities, safety, and food security. By supporting women and their families in the Bay St. George area in these key ways, we strive to improve women’s and children’s life chances to ensure full participation in Newfoundland and Labrador and Canadian society more generally.


The Bay St. George Status of Women Council has a volunteer Board of Directors which oversees the organization.  The day-to-day management of the organization is carried out by the Executive Director.

Board of Directors:

  • Bernice Hancock, Co-Chair
  • Sherrie Chaulk, Co-Chair
  • Tracey Nolan, Treasurer/Secretary
  • Lori Canning, Director
  • Angel Osmond, Director
  • Angie Colbourne, Director
  • Brenda Dennis, Director
  • Anne Hard, Director
  • Janice Kennedy, Executive Director (Staff)


Janice Kennedy, Executive Director
Sheila Felix, Program Coordinator